Frequently asked questions

Model United Nations is a simulation of the United Nations multilateral system in which students play the roles of ambassadors and diplomats as they debate and propose solutions to current world issues. As delegates, students will make speeches and negotiate with other ambassadors with the ultimate aim of resolving a problem facing the international community.
EAMUN provides delegates with the opportunity to utilise multiple fields of knowledge to tackle a real, relevant problem while building skills in negotiation, public speaking, problem solving, conflict resolution, and research—an empowering experience rarely given to students in a classroom. Furthermore, EAMUN also serves as a type of cultural and intellectual agora for students in schools across East Africa, facilitating interactions that would have been otherwise impossible.
Proposed solutions to problems of international interest, termed resolutions, form the basis of debate in EAMUN. Resolutions may address human rights violations, poor economic conditions, or any other such international crises, but they are not limited to these areas. Generally, however, resolutions will fall under one of the four principal committees of the EAMUN: Ecology, Economic, Human Rights, or Political. For the MSMUN programme, these committees will be: Ecology, Health, Human Rights, and Technology. In addition, there is an additional committee called the Special Summit that deals with controversial issues of the day that are of political or moral interest.
All conferences and events of the EAMUN are organised by the Management Committee, consisting of four adult coordinators, and the Executive Committee, consisting of six students. More information is provided in our Advisor’s Booklet, available on the downloads page.
Thanks to the generosity and support of the actual United Nations organisation, conferences are graciously hosted at the United Nations Office at Nairobi.
For member states and official observers, a total of four students may be in the delegation—one for each principal committee. If, however, a member state is also a Security Council member, permanent or otherwise, it will be permitted to send one additional delegate to the Council, bringing the total up to five.
On the last day of conference, a social event—typically a dance—will be held in the evening for all participants.
All participants are required to wear formal business attire for the duration of conference.
The organisation will not provide any meals to participants at any point during conference. However, on-site dining is readily available at the UNON food court.
Officer training is the process by which Securitaries and Junior Chairpersons are selected and familiarised with the parliamentary procedure employed in debate. Training will begin at the start of September and be held every Friday—the length of the programme will vary across different positions, as well as the EAMUN and MSMUN programmes.
Applications for the positions of Securitaries and Junior Chairperson must be made through the participating schools. Only individuals who have successfully completed Junior Chairperson training in the past two years will be eligible to apply for Senior Chairperson.
The Press Corps application will be made available at the end of August on our Facebook page, EA MUN - East African Model United Nations.
Official observers, unlike member states, are not permitted to vote on a resolution. They may, however, participate fully in debate as other delegations.
These are the nations approved to grant money to a resolution for the 2015-16 conference: - Australia - Austria - Bahrain - Belgium - Canada - China - Denmark - Finland - France - Germany - Iceland - Ireland - Israel - Italy - Japan - Kuwait - Luxembourg - Liechtenstein - Mexico - Netherlands - Qatar - Switzerland - Singapore - Republic of Korea - Spain - Sweden - United States of America - United Arab Emirates - United Kingdom
Permanent members: - China - France - Russian Federation - United Kingdom - United States of America, Non-Permanent Members: - Angola - Chad - Chile - Jordan - Lithuania - Malaysia - New Zealand - Nigeria - Spain - Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

*For a detailed overview of the programme, please download the Advisor's Booklet.

Please Wait ...